Obligatory Introduction Post

I’ve had so many blogs over the years that I think I’ve written more intro posts than regular posts.  Because of that, you’d think it’d be easy by now.

It’s not.

Not that I mind talking about myself – it’s one of my favorite subjects – but because I don’t really know what to talk about in particular.  If I put something in the wrong “order”, then it seems either more or less important than it really is.  If I forget something completely, then later on I’ll feel like I need to backtrack if I’m talking about something related to it.  And if I spend an inordinate amount of time talking about something relatively trivial, like perhaps that I ride the train to work, and gloss over something important, like my wife and daughter, well, I’ll just curl up in a corner and rock myself patiently for a week.

So, bearing that in mind, here it goes…

I’m currently a software/web developer for the Colorado State Judicial Deparment in Denver.  I’ve lived a few places – El Paso, TX; Western Washington state; and southern California when I was a kid.  I’m married to a beautiful woman, and we recently had our first child, a beautiful girl who’s already got me wrapped tighter around her tiny little fingers than I ever thought possible.

Most of my adult life I’ve been focused on programming – both as a career and a hobby.  But I’ve also spent time playing piano, writing music, and, well, “regular” writing.  I’ve got one book under my belt, a quasi-romance/family drama book called Like Glass.  It’s published in the UK right now; you can order it from Amazon’s UK site or from the Book Depository – forgive the lack of links; I’m writing this on my phone and it’s a pain in the ass to switch back and forth.  Trust me – I’ll provide links soon.  If you’re not in the UK, I’d recommend the Book Depository.  They offer free shipping to most places (maybe worldwide?), and I already have had a couple of US readers order it from there.

Right now I’m playing around with photography as a hobby.  I’ve always wanted to do some of the more visual arts, but never had the patience to teach my hands to make what I see.  Photography is a good compromise there – I don’t necessarily have complete control over the subject, but I can tweak the hell out of the colors.  From what little I’ve read on a couple of photography sites (just got into it this past weekend – haven’t spent much time researching), there’s a lot of sentiment against heavy post processing; personally, I love it.

One thing that’s probably worth getting out from the beginning is that I have been diagnosed with depression.  A lot of people talk about “suffering” from depression; I don’t like to think that way.  It’s part of who I am.  That’d be like saying I suffer from being left-handed.  I’m on meds that work, I see a therapist sometimes, I get moody sometimes.  That’s just life.

Well, I think that covers the basics pretty well, or at least most of the stuff I’ll probably talk about in this thing.  I’m sure there’s a lot that I missed, or put in the wrong order, or any of the other neurotic concerns I listed above, but my thumbs are getting tired so anything else will have to wait for later.

Catch you on the flip side.

–Matt

Posted from WordPress for Android

One thought on “Obligatory Introduction Post

  1. Pingback: Sometime’s It’s Not What You Have… | jdc-witherton

Leave a Reply

